Has anyone noticed that when something big is looming on the horizon, something you are (rightly) a little nervous about, suddenly a whole load of other worries seem to cluster around it?  I’ve got such an event next week, and whilst the details are unimportant, it’s something that would very likely cause nervousness or anxiety in anyone facing anything similar.  But the surprising thing is that the nerves I’ve got are not only about the particular event, but about so many other things going on in my life at the moment, things which would otherwise not create so many worries.

 

And whilst on the same topic of a big event on the horizon, I can, indeed I have, anticipated this event for months.  But now, with it just around the corner, I cannot see ‘past’ it at all.  It’s like my thoughts and plans about the future have an insurmountable wall aross the middle of next week, which, until I reach it and climb it, prevents me from thinking about the rest of next month, never mind the rest of the year.

 

Why do our minds do this sort of thing?  Why do events, even big, nerve wracking ones, put such a block in our minds?  There must be some sort of psychological explanation, some scientific way of describing the process by which fierce anticipation creates all sorts of illogicalaties around it.

 

I’m studying a psychology course at the moment but I’m only at A-Level/Higher stage and so far haven’t come across any mention of research into this subject.  Of course, at the moment I don’t think I could approach any discussion of such a subject from an educational point of view – I’m feeling very subjective indeed at present!

 

So here’s to next week, with anticiaption, nerves, and all sorts of other emotional turmoil building in the meantime.  And if anyone does have a scientific explanation I’d love to hear it!

